Search

Safeguarding

See the source image

Stanley Grove Primary Academy and BFET recognises their moral and statutory responsibilities to safeguard and promote the welfare of all students. At Stanley Grove, we endeavour to provide a safe and welcoming environment where children are respected and valued. We are alert to the signs of abuse and neglect and follow agreed procedures to ensure that students receive effective support and protection. We recognise that safeguarding is everybody’s responsibility. Induction and refresher training for all staff, local governors and trustees is a requirement.  The Pastoral Team provide information and early help to families in need of support and work closely with partner agencies, such as the police and children’s services:

Designated Safeguarding Lead- Jane Coogan  jcoogan@sgpa.bfet.uk  07740 110138

Head of School with Deputy Designated Safeguarding Responsibility- Amy Footman afootman@sgpa.bfet.uk 07740110136

Assistant Head of Schools with Deputy Designated Safeguarding Responsibility- Alison Bolton abolton@sgpa.bfet.uk, Tracey Ward tward@sgpa.bfet.uk, Hew Ting Yuen htyuen@sgpa.bfet.uk, from 01.11.2021- 21.10.22 Sandra Nevins snevins@sgpa.bfet.uk

SENCo- Alexander Whitehead awhitehead@sgpa.bfet.uk

Attendance and Admissions- Jenny Hollingworth jhollingworth@sgpa.bfet.uk

All staff use CPOMs to report safeguarding, SEN and behaviour concerns. It provides a safe and secure platform for sharing and storing information. Staff can access CPOMs via the link below: CPOMs Login for Staff

Useful contacts:

  • CHILDLINE: 0800 1111  free confidential helpline for children and young adults
  • NSPCC: 0800 800 5000  free 24 hour national helpline for information and confidential advice about all types of problems
  • Barnados: 020 8550 8822 works to transform the lives of vulnerable children and young people
  • Kidscape: 020 8830 3300 – produces leaflets and booklets on bullying and runs a helpline
  • LGBT Foundation: 0345 330 30 30  runs a helpline to support people who identify as lesbian, gay, bi-sexual and trans-gender
  • National Domestic Violence: 0808 200 0247 Free 24 hour helpline. Gives information on housing, welfare, health and legal rights, refers women and children to refuges, makes referrals to temporary emergency accommodation and helps to get support from the police
  • Stonewall: helpline 0800 050 2020 working for equality for LGBT people
  • ThinkuKnow: A CEOP programme that helps with online safety thinkuknow.co.uk
  • UK Safer Internet Centre: 0844 381 4772 e-safety helpline for professionals working with children
  • Young Minds: helpline: 0808 802 5544 support for people with concerns about the mental health of a young person